Clydeplan comprises the eight local authorities of East Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow City, Inverclyde, North Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire, South Lanarkshire and West Dunbartonshire Councils who work together on strategic development planning matters.

The principle role of Clydeplan is to prepare and maintain an up to date Strategic Development Plan (SDP) for the area.  This process involves engagement through joint working and consultation with a number of key stakeholder organisations and the wider community.